Home

Robotics and Phenotyping for Sustainable Crop Production

Food, feed, fiber, and fuel: Crop farming plays an essential role for the future of humanity and our planet. The environmental footprint of agriculture needs to be reduced: less input of chemicals like herbicides and fertilizer and other limited resources like water or energy. Simultaneously, the decline in arable land and climate change pose additional constraints like drought, heat, and other extreme weather events.

Achieving sustainable crop production with limited resources is a task of immense proportions. In order to achieve this, the University of Bonn together with Forschungszentrum Jülich conducts research in the Cluster of Excellence “PhenoRob – Robotics and Phenotyping for Sustainable Crop Production” to develop methods and new technologies that observe, analyze, better understand and specifically treat plants. Our research focuses on improving the fundamental understanding of all relevant parameters like plant growth, soil, biodiversity, or atmosphere. PhenoRob, the only Cluster of Excellence in agriculture in Germany, aims at addressing these issues: Change crop production by optimizing breeding and farming management using new technologies.

Follow us on Twitter and Youtube

You will find a brief summary of our research in the PhenoRob flyer.

News

New Collaborative Research Centre funded from the German Research Foundation (DFG): “Regional Climate Change – The Role of Land Use and Water Management”

The German Research Foundation (DFG) is establishing a new Collaborative Research Centre (CRC). In the CRC 1502 “Regional Climate Change: The Role of Land Use and Water Management”, researchers are …

“Highly Cited Researchers 2021” Ranking — three PhenoRob-Members are within the ten most cited researchers at the University of Bonn

The new international ranking “Highly Cited Researchers 2021” shows which researchers were cited most often from 2010 to 2020 and are among the world’s most influential one percent of their …

Contact

Spokespersons

Prof. Dr. Cyrill Stachniss
Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
Photogrammetry
Nussallee 15
53115 Bonn
Germany
Phone: +49 228 73 27 14
Email: cyrill.stachniss@nulligg.uni-bonn.de

Prof. Dr. Heiner Kuhlmann
Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
Geodesy
Nussallee 17
53115 Bonn
Germany
Phone: +49 228 73 26 20
Email: heiner.kuhlmann@nulluni-bonn.de

Cluster Office

Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
Niebuhrstraße 1a
53113 Bonn
Germany
Phone: +49 228 73 60817
Email: administration@nullphenorob.de

Dr. Nora Berning, MBA, Chief Administrative Officer
Phone: +49 228 73 60819
Email: nberning@nullphenorob.de

Martin Speer, Science Manager
Phone: +49 228 73 60811
Email: mspeer@nullphenorob.de

Science Manager, N.N.

Franziska Külbel, Project Manager
Phone: +49 228 73 60820
Email: fkuelbel@nullphenorob.de

Sonja Schwarz, Team Assistant
Phone: +49 228 73 60817
Email: sschwarz@nullphenorob.de

Annika Bonerath, Research Data Manager
Phone: +49 228 73 30 44
Email: bonerath@nulligg.uni-bonn.de

Patrick Hostnik, Experimental Technician
(at Campus Klein-Altendorf)
Phone: +49 2225 999 63-0
Email: phostnik@nulluni-bonn.de

Theresa Borkopp, Student Assistant
Email: tborkopp@nullphenorob.de

Jana Kilimann, Student Assistant
Email: jkilimann@nullphenorob.de

Victor Masarczyk, Student Assistant
Email: masarczy@nullcs.uni-bonn.de