Home

Robotics and Phenotyping for Sustainable Crop Production

Food, feed, fiber, and fuel: Crop farming plays an essential role for the future of humanity and our planet. The environmental footprint of agriculture needs to be reduced: less input of chemicals like herbicides and fertilizer and other limited resources like water or energy. Simultaneously, the decline in arable land and climate change pose additional constraints like drought, heat, and other extreme weather events.

Achieving sustainable crop production with limited resources is a task of immense proportions. In order to achieve this, the University of Bonn together with Forschungszentrum Jülich conducts research in the Cluster of Excellence “PhenoRob – Robotics and Phenotyping for Sustainable Crop Production” to develop methods and new technologies that observe, analyze, better understand and specifically treat plants. Our research focuses on improving the fundamental understanding of all relevant parameters like plant growth, soil, biodiversity, or atmosphere. PhenoRob, the only Cluster of Excellence in agriculture in Germany, aims at addressing these issues: Change crop production by optimizing breeding and farming management using new technologies.

Follow us on Twitter, Youtube and Facebook!

You will find a brief summary of our research in the PhenoRob flyer.

News

Modeling soil – understanding soil

Eva Kröner joined Forschungszentrum Jülich and University of Bonn as Professor for Pedogenetic Modelling in July 2020. In this interview, she highlights the relevance of her research to understand soil and root processes and talks about her expectations of working in the Cluster of Excellence PhenoRob.

Contact

Spokespersons

Prof. Dr. Cyrill Stachniss
Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
Photogrammetry
Nussallee 15
53115 Bonn
Germany
Phone: +49 228 73 27 14
Email: cyrill.stachniss@igg.uni-bonn.de

Prof. Dr. Heiner Kuhlmann
Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
Geodesy
Nussallee 17
53115 Bonn
Germany
Phone: +49 228 73 26 20
Email: heiner.kuhlmann@uni-bonn.de

Cluster Office

Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
Nussallee 17
53115 Bonn
Phone: +49 228 73 35 74
Email: administration@phenorob.de

Dr. Nora Berning, MBA, Chief Administrative Officer
Phone: +49 228 73 35 63
Email: nberning@phenorob.de

Natascha Buhl, PR Manager
Phone: +49 228 73 35 67
Email: nbuhl@phenorob.de

Benedikt Springer, Innovation Manager
Phone: +49 228 73 56 30
Email: bspringer@phenorob.de

Sonja Schwarz, Team Assistant
Phone: +49 228 73 35 74
Email: sschwarz@phenorob.de

Annika Bonerath, Research Data Manager
Phone: +49 228 73 30 44
Email: bonerath@igg.uni-bonn.de

Patrick Hostnik, Experimental Technician
(at Campus Klein-Altendorf)
Phone: +49 2225 999 63-0
Email: phostnik@uni-bonn.de